Careers

Geologist

A specialist in investigating the composition and content of rock fragments in order to locate and prospect for economic mineral deposits.

History of the Profession

The history of the geologist can be traced all the way back to the Ancient Greeks, who examined changes in the make-up of the soil. The large-scale industrial development starting from the 18th century, required an increase in the supply of minerals, together with this grew the significance of the profession of the geologist.

The Geologist Today

Metalloinvests geologists investigate the potential of prospected deposits, and ascertain the exact quantity of iron ore reserves. The geologists working day generally splits into two parts: fieldwork and laboratory work (computing the data recorded in the field). The distribution of deposits in the open pit is studied, examined, assessed, and described at Metalloinvests enterprises. This time-consuming process also includes the creation of maps and models of the deposit location.

Knowledge and Skills

A geologist has to have far-reaching knowledge and abilities. The foundation for these lies in the sound knowledge gained at university. A geologist should be able to create and understand cartographical blueprints, use appropriate analytical and measuring equipment, create and contribute to databases of geological data, draw conclusions, and present data in the form of maps.

Personal Qualities

The role of the geologist is one of the most interesting, romantic, and difficult jobs. It may even be, if you like, a way of life; for the work doesnt have fixed hours and involves frequent research trips and site visits. For this reason, a geologist should be physically fit, with good attention to detail, endurance, determination, and patience.

Career

Career progress for the geologist is possible through promotion within the geological service of the prospecting team, or within the Company. Promotion up the career ladder will depend upon successful investigations and prospecting work, and an unusual or innovative approach to the implementation of set tasks.

You are using an old version of Internet Explorer. This version does not support web technologies, which we are using in this resource. Pages and interactive tools will be displayed incorrectly. Please update your browser to a newer version or install another.

Карьера

Геолог

Геолог

Геолог — специалист по изучению состава и строения горных пород с целью поисков и разведки месторождений полезных ископаемых.

История профессии

Своими корнями геология уходит в историю Древней Греции, когда проводились геологические наблюдения за природными изменениями Земли. Масштабное развитие промышленности, начиная с XVIII века, потребовало увеличения добычи полезных ископаемых, а вместе с этим возросло значение профессии геолог.

Геолог сегодня

Геологи Металлоинвеста занимаются доразведкой разрабатываемых месторождений, уточнением объемов запасов железных руд. Трудовые будни геолога условно делятся на два периода: полевые экспедиции и камеральная работа, т. е. обработка данных, полученных во время экспедиций. На предприятиях Компании проводятся изучения, пробы, оценки и описание условий залегания ископаемых в карьерах. Это длительный процесс, который также включает создание картографических дополнений и моделей месторождения.

Знания и навыки

Геолог должен знать и уметь многое, и основой всему являются прочные знания по профильному высшему образованию. Геолог должен уметь составлять и толковать картографические чертежи, пользоваться специальными аналитическими и измерительными приборами, составлять базы геологических данных, поддерживать их, обрабатывать результаты, оформлять их способом составления карт.

Личные качества

Геолог — одна из интересных, романтичных и непростых профессий. Это даже, если хотите, образ жизни. Ведь работа не характеризуется равномерностью, ей присущи частые исследовательские поездки и выезды на изучаемый объект. Поэтому у геолога должна быть хорошая физическая подготовка, а также наблюдательность, выносливость, целеустремленность, терпеливость.

Карьера

Карьерный рост геолога возможен с назначения на более высокие должности в геологической службе рудоуправления, а также всего предприятия. Продвижение по служебной лестнице зависит от успешных исследований и изыскательных работ, нестандартного или инновационного подхода к решению поставленных задач.

В этом браузере сайт может отображаться некорректно. Рекомендуем Вам установить более современный браузер.